Caerwys Agricultural Show

14th June 2025


Heavy Horses

Please read the information below, then click here to enter online

Heavy Horses

Please read the information below, then click here to enter online

Please note: paid entries only permit 2 free adult tickets per vehicle. All other passengers must purchase tickets online or on the gate.

Heavy Horses

HH1 – Gelding ( 3 years old or over)

HH2 – Barren Mare ( 3 years old or over

HH3 – Yearling (colt, filly or gelding)

HH4 – 2 year old (colt, filly or gelding)

HH5 – Brood Mare with own Foal at Foot

HH6 – Foal (filly or colt)

HH7 – Neatest and Cleanest

HH8 – Young Handler (under 18 years old)



HH9 – Turnouts (Trade/Agricultural)

HH10 – Open Ridden Heavy Horse (4 years old or over )

On the day, please take the RED route to show field.

Judging at 10:00am in the Main Ring                                                                      

Entry Fee: £5.00


1st £402nd £353rd £304th £255th £20

Judge: Mrs Jayne Malkin

Steward: Anna Pleavin

Would all turnout exhibitors please provide commentary notes on entry forms. 

All exhibitors are respectfully requested to attend the Grand Parade in the Main Ring at 3:00pm. Only the Section Supreme Champions will be presented with their respective trophies in the Main Ring.  All other class Champions will receive their trophies & prize money from the Cattle Secretary after the Grand Parade. 

Travelling grant for all Heavy Horse Agricultural or Trade Turnouts 
In addition to the normal prize money, a travelling grant of £50 will be paid to each Heavy Horse Turnout that appears in the main ring at Caerwys Show in 2024.

Trophies & Special Prizes

The W. S. Coffey Rose Bowl will be awarded to the Champion Shire Horse.

The Overall Champion will be awarded a cash prize of £50.  The Reserve Overall Champion will be awarded a cash prize of £25, sponsored by Mr J L Thomas.  

The W. J. Davies Cup kindly presented by the late Mr W. J. Davies, Garreg Farm, Whitford will be awarded to the Junior Champion, together with a cash prize of £40.

The winning young handler in class HH8 will be awarded a special Prize sponsored by Mr W Darlington. 

The R. Jones Kinsale Memorial Trophy for the best foal, together with a cash prize of £40, kindly sponsored by Vicky Jones.

The Piccadilly Challenge Cup for the winner of class HH1, kindly sponsored by Mr A J and Mrs S J Pleavin. 

The A. & D. Tomlinson Trophy will be awarded to the Best Plaited Shire. Sponsor TBC.

The Elfed Bartley Perpetual Trophy will be awarded to the winner of HH9. Sponsor TBC.

The Edward Woodcock Perpetual Trophy for the winner of HH10 kindly donated by Mr & Mrs PG Evans of Pen y Cefn Farm, Caerwys in memory of Mr & Mrs J. Islwyn Evans.

Secretary: Susan Thomas

If you would prefer not to enter online, please download an entry form and email it to the secretary, Ceri Pleavin, who will contact you to arrange payment. Alternatively, please fill out the form and send it with payment to the secretary.